Love Notions Hip-Hop Tank and Top

School is starting back for me here sooner than I’d like.  I still have a few weeks left, but I’m definitely already thinking about fall and sewing for cooler weather.  I was lucky enough to join the Hip Hop Tank tour for Love Notions.  As I looked through the pattern, I had no idea that you could make one in woven fabric.  I envisioned making a woven sleeveless top to wear under cardigans or even a blazer for my upcoming school year.  I love when I can use a top both casually and professionally.  This pattern can be made in so many different styles and ways that it can easily be used to make it work for different purposes, and be a capsule pattern. hiphop

The pattern includes the cut chart for the neck and arm bands, if you’re doing knit.  Since I did woven, I made my own bias tape cutting 2″ wide strips on the bias.  I then folded and ironed to make the bias tape.  Since I didn’t have the measurements for the woven bindings, I simply clipped my binding on openings and clipped all the way around.  When I came to the end, I folded the bottom in 3/8″ so that I had a clean finish before I sewed them on.   hiphop5

This pattern has 4 different views with color blocking and two unique backs.  One back can be a button up back, and the other a tulip back.  Most of the views require knit for the bodice.  There’s a sleeveless cut line and both a tank cut line at the armscyes.  Cap sleeve pattern pieces are also included, if you’d like to make a short sleeve version.  There’s a hi-low hem cut line, as well as a straight cut line.  hiphop4

Overall, the pattern instructions are written very well and each view has it’s own set of instructions.  Both the front and back have separate pattern pieces.  The pattern states that you can do either knit bands or bindings, if you make a knit version, but the preferred method is binding.  The bindings don’t have pattern pieces, but a cut chart is given.  I really enjoyed sewing up this Hip-Hop tank!  It was really quick and easy!

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway below for a chance to win a $50 gift card to Love Notions!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

11 Replies to “Love Notions Hip-Hop Tank and Top”

Leave a Reply

