SLPco Paisley Dress

slpcosneak

I think there are probably quite a few of us that are thinking about the holidays, and not just about finding presents for everyone and all the events we have to attend, but also about the clothing we’ll wear.  As someone that sews, I like to plan in advance.  I like to stalk Pinterest, look through my pattern stash, and scour the fabrics.  Simple Life Pattern Co. started a blog tour specifically for the special occasions that everyone is likely to attend.  All of the bloggers in the tour used SLPco patterns to create a special occasion look.  After looking through all of the patterns, I decided on the Paisley open back dress paired with the Juliette capelet.  slpcotour6

The Paisley dress pattern calls for knit fabrics.  Because of the knit, I knew that she would be comfortable in her dress while she ran and played.  The capelet is for woven fabrics and is a free pattern with a code from the SLPco Facebook group.  Although, I didn’t see any tester pics with fur, I knew that was the look that I really wanted.

I got both of the royal blue stretch velvet and the white faux fur from Hart’s Fabric (the fabric sponsor for this tour).  Dana was amazing to work with, and my fabrics arrived so fast!  The tissue paper pattern that they wrap their fabrics in is such an awesome and fun touch when you open your package.  The quality and feel were both top notch!img_7440.jpg

The Paisley has a circle skirt option, or a gathered skirt.  I went with the circle skirt, as I knew she’d love to be able to twirl.  I also did the neckline with a binding, but if I did it again with stretch velvet I would do the neckband option, as it was tough to do the binding since I couldn’t iron the velvet.  This was a surprisingly quick sew, and I had it finished in one day.

The capelet was also a quick and simple design that only took me a few hours to complete (after cutting out the fur and vacuuming up all of the fur that decided to take over my sewing room).  The white fur is so amazingly soft that I want to make one for myself too, even if I’ll look like a caroler.  slpcotour4slpcotour2slpcotourslpcotour5slpcotour3

These patterns were definitely perfect for what I had envisioned her wearing this holiday season.  Be sure to check out what all the other bloggers made, and follow along with the blog tour this week.  Don’t forget to enter the giveaway that is going on as well!

 

November 13 – Kainara StitchesAmmon Lane

November 14 – Sew and Tell ProjectLace and Pine

November 15 – Sunflower SeamsSewSophieLynn

November 16 – Wonderfully HandmadeIdle SunshineI am Mami de Sofiona

November 17 – Pear Berry LaneIt’s Liesel

 

 

There are TWO ways to win in this giveaway!

While both giveaways are open to everyone, contestants outside of the U.S. will be responsible for any excess shipping and fees and subject to the sponsors’ shipping guidelines.

Enter the Rafflecopter below for a chance to win the following. One winner will be chosen at random after Rafflecopter closes.

1 winner of Rafflecopter of will receive:
5 Patterns of choice from Simple Life Pattern Co.
$50 Gift Card from Cotton Coterie with FREE shipping
$50 Gift Card from Little Feather

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Already sewing for the holidays with Simple Life Pattern Company? Share what you made for a chance to win the Link-Up prize! One winner will be chosen at random after the link-up closes.

1 Winner of the Link up will receive: 5 Patterns of choice from Simple Life Pattern Co. $50 Gift Card to Harts Fabric $50 Gift Card to Sincerely Rylee $30 Gift Card to Punkin Head Threads

 

24 Replies to “SLPco Paisley Dress”

  1. Oh my word! You completely knock it out of the park with this look. I love everything about it. And little miss look stunning
    I am still cleaning up pink fur from my bolero. Lol!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

