Sew Thankful Blog Tour

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday!  I love having an excuse to eat myself silly, take a nap, watch some Christmas movies, and then eat some more.  Last year was the first year that I made my daughter a Thanksgiving dress.  It’s so hard to not resist the cute holiday fabrics when I see them in the stores.  This year was no exception!  I grabbed this cute turkey woven fabric at Hobby Lobby earlier in the year when I saw it.  turkey3

I love making a quick dress for her, and one that she can run around in and not feel constricted.  I’m always drawn to a pattern that has a knit bodice and a skirt that can be either woven or knit.  Either one with it attaching at the natural waist, or an empire waist.  The Brooklyn pattern from Made for Mermaids was the perfect match for this dress.  turkey5

The pattern has a neckline facing instead of doing a neckband, but I prefer having a neckband, so I modified the neckline a little to have a neckband instead of the facing.  I used burgundy cotton lycra from Raspberry Creek fabrics for the bodice.  turkey4

I also used the same pattern to make my friend’s daughter a Thanksgiving dress.  I also did a neckband, but I added a sash at the waist.  I used another pattern to get the lengths for the sash ties, so I knew it would be long enough to tie it.turkey

Make sure to check out the other bloggers from this month’s Sew Thankful Blog tour!  And enter the giveaways!!

22894350_10159756951975529_6547718025676357674_n

Our Thankful Sewing Bloggers are creating something special to share with you to celebrate this month of Thanksgivings! As an extra special surprise, we also have a couple giveaways during each week of the tour. Share your thanks with Petite Stitchery who has a new pattern to share with us, a free pattern giveaway from Sew by Pattern Pieces, and a chance to win a shop credit each week from Simply by Ti!

Intro to the tour

November 1st:

mahlicadesigns

Sewing with Sarah

Week 1:

Nov 1st: Tenille’s Thread

Nov 2nd: Candace Ayala

Nov 3rd: Hazelnut Handmade

Nov 4th: Musing of a Seamstress

Nov 5th: Sewing Portfolios

Monday Nov 6th: mahlicadesigns

Nov 7th: Seams Sew Lo

Week 2:

Nov 8th: Margarita on the Ross

Nov 9th: Stitched by Jennie

Nov 10th: Sewing with D

Monday Nov 13th: 5 outof 4 Patterns

Nov 14th: Tales of a Southern Mom

Week 3:

Nov 15th: Hazelnut Handmade

Nov 16th: Octaves of Color

Nov 17th: Kainara Stitches

Nov 18th: Kutti Couture

Nov 19th: The Petite Sewist

Monday Nov 20th: My Heart will Sew On

Nov 21st: Needles to Say

Week 4:

Nov 22nd: Back 40 Life

Nov 23rd: Lovemade Handmade

Nov 24th: Sewing by Ti

Nov 25th: On Wednesdays We Sew

Nov 26th: Paisley Roots

Monday Nov 27th: Mermaid Mama Designs

Nov 28th: Sew Haute Blog

Nov 29th: Ma Moose Handmade

Nov 30th: Everything Your Mama Made & More

One Reply to “Sew Thankful Blog Tour”

Leave a Reply

